nanaxgerman.blogg.se

Epson scanning negatives
Epson scanning negatives









epson scanning negatives

The top piece of glass is more important for 120 film because those negatives are almost never completely flat.

epson scanning negatives

Most large format sheets are flat enough, so I usually don't have to put the second piece of glass on top of my 4x5 sheets. I did add gaffer tape to prevent the washers from scratching the glass.Īfter making about 100 scans or so, I can say that I have encountered no problems with sharpness or any ill effect from sandwiching the negatives as described above. After making five scans with different rings, I found the correct height to get perfect sharpness (the V850 focuses about a milimeter above the scanner glass). I had to search a bit to find washers with the correct thickness. My home made "holder" ( see previous post) to raise the ANR glass didn't work with these new sheets, but the larger glass lets me add washers (metal rings used to secure screws) underneath the bottom one. The larger glass would allow me to put at least two strips of 120 film next to each other. I decided to give it a go anyway, so I ordered two large sheets of ANR glass - slightly smaller than the glass of the V850. But when doing some online research, I read that it would be a bad idea and that it would cause problems with sharpness. I figured that using two sheets of ANR glass to sandwich the negatives would speed up the process considerably. Not to mention having to clean the glass to remove residu from the tape every time.

epson scanning negatives

I opted for scanning this way because I want my scans to include the film borders (so no film holders), to ensure flat negatives and to prevent Newton rings.Īlthough the method described there worked really well, it was cumbersome.Įspecially having to cut (medium format) and tape each negative was very time consuming. You can find that post here: Scanning 4x5 sheet film with an Epson v850. In a previous post I described how I scan film using my Epson V850.











Epson scanning negatives